• The Albert Award

    Note: The 2018 application period is closed. The next application period will open in January 2019.

    Each year, the Albert Awards are given by the Parkway Alumni Association to three exceptional first through fifth year Parkway teachers – one each at the elementary, middle and high school level. This award recognizes these new teachers for the energy and enthusiasm that they bring to their students, as well as the creative and innovative practices they use in their classroom.

    Each Albert Award recipient receive a $1,000 cash prize and a plaque. Recipients are honored at the Parkway Appreciation Evening in April and at the Hall of Fame Celebration in November (biannually).

    The Albert Award is named in honor of Dr. Al Burr, a retired teacher, coach, and long-distinguished principal in the district. The Albert Award is sponsored by the Parkway Alumni Association and funded by the Educators Make-A-Difference Fund for the purpose of recognizing those teachers who are inspiring others at the very earliest stages of their careers.

    2017: Parkway teachers earn accolades for Alberts

    Brian      Katy      Ellen

    Congratulations to the PAA's 2017 Albert Award winners! Brian Parrish [N '06] (Vocal Music/West High), Ellen Schanzmeyer (Pierremont) and Katy Phillips [N '07] (Southwest Middle) each received $1,000, plus recognition at the district's annual awards event.