Return to Headlines

Twenty-one Parkway students selected as National Merit Semifinalists

National Merit logo 9/16/2019 -- Twenty-one Parkway high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

Approximately 16,000 students nationwide were selected as semifinalists, and 90 percent will go on to become finalists. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring.

The Parkway students are.

Central High
Aileen Chang
Matthew Chen
Leslie Cytron
Sun-Woo Kang
Andrew Lee
Varsha Murali
Irina Samsonova
Felicia Xiao
Ellie Yang

South High
Matthew Christofferson
Jeffrey Ying

West High
Ronik Bhaskar
Katelyn Chapman
Benjamin Goff
Wonsang Lee
Jonathan Ma
Akhil Mulakala
Molly Ripper
Nayeon Ryu
Kesava Viswanadha
Mukund Viswanadha