Return to Headlines

Six schools named National Schools of Character

5/18/2022 -- Claymont and Mason Ridge elementary schools have received their first designation as National Schools of Character. In addition, Northeast Middle, Southwest Middle, Green Trails and Carman Trails have been re-certified as National Schools of Character.

The Parkway School District has also been re-certified as a National District of Character by, a national advocate and leader for character development in schools and communities.

Eighteen Parkway schools are National Schools of Character - Carman Trails Elementary, Claymont Elementary, Hanna Woods Elementary, Green Trails Elementary, Mason Ridge Elementary, Ross Elementary, Oak Brook Elementary, McKelvey Elementary, Craig Elementary, Barretts Elementary, Wren Hollow Elementary, Highcroft Ridge Elementary, Central Middle, Northeast Middle, Southwest Middle, West Middle, Central High and the Early Childhood Center.

National certification is the highest level of distinction given by Schools and districts receiving this designation have demonstrated excellence in establishing a culture that exemplifies and brings to life the 11 Principles Framework for Schools: A Guide to Cultivating a Culture of Character.

Each school has put into place a comprehensive approach that inspires its students to understand, care about and consistently practice a set of core values that will enable them to flourish in school, in relationships, in the workplace, and as citizens.