Return to Headlines

Nominees for 2023 Albert Awards announced

2/28/2023 -- Congratulations to all Parkway teachers who were nominated for an Albert Award. These nominees will be considered for one of the three Albert Awards to be presented by Parkway Alumni Association this year.

Three recipients – an elementary, middle and high school teacher -- will be announced the week of March 6. These recipients will receive further recognition at the district’s Appreciation Evening event and $1,000 each from the Parkway Alumni Association’s Educators Make a Difference Fund.

The Albert Award is given to teachers who have been teaching for five years or less and have demonstrated exceptional leadership, collaborative qualities and teaching skills in Parkway classrooms.

Below are the names of the nominees.

Jessica Chrismer, Central High
Alayna Furjes, Northeast Middle
C.J. Gahr, Central Middle
Lindsay Inman, McKelvey Primary
Ashley Jelovic, Bellerive Elementary
Gabby McMullen, Barretts Elementary
Taylor Paluczak, Hanna Woods Elementary
Anton Ruiz, South High
Layla Safi, Carman Trails Elementary
Emily Shields, Wren Hollow Elementary
Sam Slane, Barretts Elementary
Kate Wynveen, McKelvey Intermediate
Mallory Zinselmeier, Henry Elementary

The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Al Burr, a teacher, coach and long-distinguished principal in Parkway. The Albert Award is sponsored by the Parkway Alumni Association and funded by its Educators Make a Difference Fund.