Return to Headlines

Eight Parkway students awarded College-Sponsored National Merit scholarship

Merit Scholarship logo 6/5/2019 -- Eight Parkway students were selected as National Merit college-sponsored scholarship winners.


College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $31 million. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. The Parkway students are:


Central High

Justin Hudgins

Probable career field: Computer Science

University of Chicago


South High

Ishrar Zaman

Probable career field: Computer Science

Arizona State University


Amy Zhang

Probable career field: Mathematics

University of Minnesota


West High

Lydia Jaskowiak

Probable career field: Botany

Rhodes College


Deirdre Jost

Probable career field: Undecided

Miami University


Mitchell Norman

Probable career field: Medicine

University of Missouri - Columbia


Natalie Shpringman

Probable career field: Medicine

University of Oklahoma


Zane Yates

Probable career field: Engineering

Missouri University of Science and Technology


An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2019 competition to about 4,100.