Return to Headlines

Six Parkway students awarded College-Sponsored National Merit scholarship

National Merit logo 6/5/2020 -- Six Parkway students were selected as National Merit college-sponsored scholarship winners.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,600 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $30 million. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. The Parkway students are:

Central High
Sun-Woo Kang
Probable career field: International Relations
University of Southern California

Irina Samsonova
Probable career field: Healthcare
University of Missouri - Columbia

South High
Matthew Christofferson
Probable career field: Undecided
University of Southern California

West High
Molly Ripper
Probable career field: Genetics
Missouri University of Science and Technology 

Nayeon Ryu
Probable career field: Political Science
University of Southern California

Mukund Viswanadha
Probable career field: Medicine
University of Missouri - Columbia

An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2020 competition to about 4,100.