Return to Headlines

West High’s yearbook staff, earned a #1 Best of Show

12/13/2016 -- West High’s yearbook staff, earned a #1 Best of Show at the National Scholastic Press Association’s (NSPA) Convention in Indianapolis, last month. The also earned an earned a #7 Best of Show. 


The Best of Show competition is held at all national conventions sponsored by the National Scholastic Press Association. The number of entries and places awarded varies from year to year, depending on overall convention attendance. 


Only publications and broadcast teams with students in attendance at the convention are eligible to enter the on-site contest. 


While in attendance students attended learning sessions and participated in a national write-off contest.  There’s probably no type of contest that better simulates the deadline conditions of real journalism than a write-off competition. Students are given a two hour window to complete their assignment.  The following students won awards. 


Kacie Bergh won a Superior for Yearbook Copy/Captions Sports

Nell Jaskowiak won an Excellent for Editorial Writing

Sydney Kinzy won an Excellent for Review Writing

Haley Tiepelman won an Excellent for Yearbook Cover/Endsheets

Dani Fischer won an Honorable Mention for Review Writing


On November 3, the yearbook staff also learned that they are a Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s (CSPA) Crown finalist. Crown Awards are the highest recognition given by the CSPA to a student print or digital medium for overall excellence.


A panel of Crown Judges assembles each year at Columbia University to view all entrants, whether they are newspaper, magazines, yearbooks or online media. Judges are experienced former advisers to student media, professional journalists who understand student media or professionals such as photographers or online specialists with particular expertise needed for the judging exercise.


No set number of Crown Awards is required; the awards are discretionary, based on the evaluation by the Crown Judges. Decisions of these judges are final. They consider all aspects of value to the reader or viewer: content, design or presentation, coverage, photography as well as writing and editing.