Return to Headlines

Seven Parkway students selected as candidates for Presidential Scholar

2/2/2017 -- Seven Parkway School District  students have been selected as candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program. 


The students and their schools are:


Jillian A. Day - Parkway North High School

Alexander B. Luckerman - Parkway Central High School

Erin R. Neely - Parkway South High School

Rebecca F. Parker - Parkway South High School

Madeleine C. Scannell - Parkway Central High School

Angela L. Tsao - Parkway West High School

Elena G. Wilner - Parkway Central High School


Students have the opportunity to become Presidential Scholars based on three paths of accomplishment. The majority of Scholars are selected on the basis of broad academic achievement. Approximately 20 additional students are selected on their academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, performing arts, or creative writing.


In April, the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars reviews the applications of all semifinalists, applying the same criteria used by the review committee. The Commission selects up to 161 U.S Presidential Scholars each year, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.


All scholars are honored for their accomplishments during the National Recognition Program, held in June in Washington, D.C. During the trip, Presidential Scholars are guests of the U.S. Department of Education and the Commission and enjoy an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C.


The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.