Return to Headlines

Light of Parkway winners

3/2/2017 -- Five special Parkway employees were just surprised with the announcement that they are recipients of the new Light of Parkway award! Watch their reactions here.

  • Bob Grisham, Electrician, Facilities-Warehouse
  • Sandy Braden, Administrative Secretary, ISC
  • Alexis Newsome, Principal's Secretary, Southwest Middle
  • Andre Sloan, Custodian, North High
  • Joyce Weis, Principal's Secretary, West High

Winners will receive $500 from the Parkway Alumni Association at Appreciation Evening on April 24.

Congratulations to all of the 31 employees who were nominated for a prestigious 2017 Light of Parkway award! Click here to see who was honored with a nomination.

The new Light of Parkway award is designed to bring recognition to the district’s extraordinary operations (non-certified) staff members who have helped to create a positive and caring environment for the people they serve and honors the memory of Sandy Finch, a former Parkway bus driver known for her exceptionally upbeat attitude and helpful interactions with staff, students and parents. The award for operations staff is made possible by the Parkway Alumni Association's Sandy Finch Light of Parkway Fund.

winner photo