Return to Headlines

Parkway selects 2017 Albert Award winners

3/13/2017 -- Each year, the Albert Award is given by the Parkway Alumni Association to three exceptional first through fifth year Parkway teachers – one each at the elementary, middle and high school level. The award recognizes new teachers for the energy and enthusiasm that they bring to their students, as well as the creative and innovative practices they use in their classroom.


Ellen Schanzmeyer

Fifth grade teacher, Pierremont Elementary

Katy Phillips [North ‘07]

Sixth grade teacher, Southwest Middle

Brian Parrish [North, ‘06]

Music teacher, West High


Each Albert Award recipient will receive a $1,000 cash prize and a plaque. Recipients are also honored at Parkway’s Appreciation Evening event in April and at the Hall of Fame celebration in November 2018.


The Albert Award is named in honor of the late Al Burr, a teacher, coach and long-distinguished principal in the district. The Albert Award is sponsored by the Parkway Alumni Association and funded by the Educators Make A Difference Fund for the purpose of recognizing those teachers who are inspiring others at the very earliest stages of their careers.