Return to Headlines

Twenty-two students selected as National Merit Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship logo 9/24/2018 -- Twenty-two Parkway high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.


Approximately 16,000 students nationwide were selected as semifinalists, and 90 percent will go on to become finalists. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $31 million.


The Parkway students are:


Central High

Preston Chen

Skylar Droege

Thomas Gibson

Justin Hudgins

Kate Luckerman

Alex Zhuravel

Sophie Zucker


South High

Jessica Estep

Emily Linn

Emma Parker

Ishrar Zaman

Amy Zhang


West High

Matthew Boyd

Paden Davis

Lydia Jaskowiak

Deirdre Jost

Mitchell Norman

Natalie Shpringman

Neil Tomala

Gokul Venkatachalam

Sishir Yarlagadda

Zane Yates