Return to Headlines

Three Parkway Schools named State Schools of Character

State schools of character 1/30/2019 -- Three Parkway Schools – Central High, Hanna Woods Elementary and West Middle - have been named State Schools of Character by the Character Education Partnership for their dedicated focus on character development. In addition, McKelvey Elementary was recertified as a School of Character.


Schools of Character must demonstrate that their focus on character development has had a positive impact on academic achievement, student behavior and school climate. Recognition as a State School of Character is a step toward being honored as a National School of Character. The 2019 National Schools of Character will be announced in May 2019.