Return to Headlines

Three Parkway students awarded $2,500 National Merit scholarship

5/12/2021 -- Three Parkway students were awarded a National Merit $2,500 Scholarship. The scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 16,000 outstanding finalists in the National Merit Scholarship program.

National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners are the students in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

The Parkway students are:

Central High
Emily He
Probable career field: biology

South High
Kaitlyn Ying
Probable career field: Medicine

West High
Sri Jaladi
Probable career field: Political science

The scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors. The selection of winners is based on academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay; and a recommendation from a high school official.

Additional winners of the college-sponsored Merit Scholarships will be announced in June and July.