Return to Headlines

Five Parkway students selected as college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners

8/3/2022 -- Five Parkway students were selected as college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship winners.

Central High
Ayaan Umar 
Probable career field: Finance
University of Missouri, Columbia

South High
Kevin Potthast
Probable career field: Aerospace Engineering
Purdue University

West High
Jackson Gillespie
Probable career field: Psychology
University of Missouri, Columbia

Noah Withers 
Probable career field: Engineering
Purdue University

Judy Isaac
Probable career field: Biochemistry
University of Missouri, Columbia

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $28 million. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

In June, two Parkway students were announced as college-sponsored award recipients.