Return to Headlines

2017 Pillars of Parkway selected

Pillar winners 3/13/2017 -- Nine individuals have been selected as 2017 Pillars of Parkway.  This prestigious award is presented to individuals who have provided extraordinary service to the Parkway community and go beyond what is expected.  The Pillar honorees are:


Bill Bass, innovation coordinator, Instructional Service Center


Kim Cohen, principal, McKelvey Elementary


Charlotte Ijei, director of pupil personnel, Instructional Services Center


E. Laine, Oasis tutor, Mason Ridge Elementary


Phillip Maxwell, modern/classical languages teacher, Central Middle


Lisa Merideth, assistant superintendent of teaching, learning and accountability, Instructional Services Center


Chris Shirley, principal, Oak Brook Elementary


David and Lois Zuckerman, community volunteers, North High


What is the Pillar of Parkway award?

Each year, individuals who have made a long-term commitment and provided outstanding leadership and service to Parkway, can be nominated to be honored as one of approximately 10 -12 winners selected by a committee of former Pillars of Parkway.


The Pillars of Parkway will be honored at Appreciation Evening on April 24, along with retirees, service award honorees, Teachers of the Year, Light of Parkway and Albert award winners.


Congratulations again to all 82 nominees including parent volunteers, employees and community members.