Return to Headlines

Twenty-five Parkway students named 2021 National Merit finalists

National Merit Scholarship logo 2/22/2021 -- Twenty-five Parkway seniors have been named finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students represent less than one percent of high school seniors in the United States. The Parkway students are:

Central High
Nicole Bi
Emily He
Hannah Li
Charles Rosenzweig
Peter Schaefer
Jack Williams
Andrew Zhang

North High
Daniel Grad
Christopher Lau

South High
Elizabeth Nolte
Kaitlyn Ying
Jason Zheng

West High
Salma Ahmed
Clementine Arneson
Yusuf Hacking
Nicholas Harms
Sri Jaladi
Skyler Ji
Tyler Kinzy
Katherine Montgomery
McKay Morgan
Eva Phillips
Arie Rafiq
Joseph Rosenberg
Kesava Viswanadha

To become a finalist, students must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards received. A finalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

In the fall, approximately 16,000 students nationwide were selected as semifinalists, and 90 percent go on to become finalists. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $30 million.