• Teacher of the Year

    Each spring, the Parkway Alumni Association sponsors the Parkway Teacher of the Year recognition program. Staff members at each school select a teacher as their building teacher of the year. From this group, the district selects an elementary, middle-school and high-school teacher to represent their building levels. One of these three teachers is selected by the district to represent Parkway at the state-level competition for teacher of the year.

    Teachers are selected for teacher-of-the-year honors based on a set of criteria determined by the district.

    The PAA provides recognition and cash awards (total $2,000) for all of Parkway's teachers of the year and honors them at the district's annual Appreciation Evening event in the spring.

    In 2021, Parkway selected the following teachers to represent each building level:

    • Amie Gossett, theatre teacher at West High, was selected as the Teacher of the Year for Parkway Schools, as well as the district’s High School Teacher of the Year

    • Erica Kirn, a third-grade teacher at Bellerive Elementary, is the Elementary Teacher of the Year

    • Leigh Klawiter, school counselor at West Middle, is the Middle School Teacher of the Year

    Many Parkway alumni are teachers in the district and have been selected as teachers of the year! Sacha Walchli [North '99], a teacher in the English for Speakers of Other Languages program at Green Trails Elementary, was selected in 2016 as the district teacher of the year.

Last Modified on April 14, 2021