Standardized tests are designed to give a common measure of students' performance. These assessments help compare individual performance with the performance of a group of students from a given class, school, or school system. Since large numbers of students throughout the country take the same test, "standards" can be developed to show whether school programs are succeeding and how students are performing. Standardized achievement tests measure how much students have already learned about school subjects such as reading, math, language skills, spelling, or science. On the other hand, standardized aptitude tests measure your student’s ability to learn in school. They measure verbal ability, mechanical ability, creativity, clerical ability, or abstract reasoning.

    ACT (American College Testing Program)
    The ACT is a battery of four examinations in English, math, reading, and science reasoning, each of which yield separate scores measuring developed abilities. The ACT is accepted by many colleges as part of the application process for admission. A free ACT Test is administered by Parkway to all junior students in April.  All freshman and sophomores are administered a practice ACT test in April as well.

    AP (Advanced Placement)Testing
    Students enrolled in AP courses are strongly encouraged to complete the AP examination for which the course has prepared them. Cost of the examination will be paid by the student. Students should consult their teacher with questions about the exam. Each college or university determines which of these examination scores it will accept. It is important for students to have accurate information from the school they plan to attend regarding the acceptance of AP credit.

    EOC (End of Course Assessment)
    End of Course assessments are required by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for various high school level classes.

    PSAT / NMSQT (Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test)
    The PSAT/NMSQT measures verbal and mathematics reasoning skills important for academic success in college. It serves three purposes: gives the student practice for the SAT I; is the first step in qualifying for scholarships sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and other scholarship programs; and gives the student the opportunity to participate in the Student Search Service. 10th and 11th grade students are eligible to take the test. This test is taken in the junior year for NMSQT qualification.

    SAT (Scholastic Aptitude Test)
    SAT is a test used to predict student performance in college. Required by some schools as part of the application process, this three-hour test has three main sections—reading, math and writing.  The SAT is accepted by many colleges as part of the application process for admissions.

    SAT 2 (Scholastic Aptitude Test-Subject Tests)
    Subject Tests are hour-long, content-based tests that allow you to showcase achievement in specific subject areas where you excel. These are the only national admission tests where you choose the tests that best showcase your achievements and interests. There are 20 SAT Subject Tests in five general subject areas: English, history, languages, mathematics, and science. Some colleges require SAT 2’s for admission and acceptance into specific programs.